Jost Logo
Featured Video Play Icon

Christian

Berlin based Composer/Conductor Christian Jost studied composition, analysis and conducting in Cologne with Bojidar Dimov from 1983 to 1988 and with David Sheinfeld at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music from 1988 to 1989. Christian received scholarships from the foundation Kulturfond des Deutschen Volkes and the artistic and cultural foundation of the federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia. Jost received the Ernst von Siemens Foundation Encouragement Prize in 2003. His opera Hamlet has been elected ‘World Premiere of the Year 2009’ by an international jury of the magazine ‘Opernwelt’.

Christian Jost also frequently appears as conductor, e.g. with the Bremen Philharmonic Orchestra, the Nederlands Philharmonic Orchestra, the Hamburg Philharmonic Orchestra, the National Symphony Orchestra Taiwan, the Essen Philharmonic Orchestra, the Orchestra of the Komische Oper Berlin, the Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie, the Deutsches Kammerorchester Berlin, and the Orchestra of the Oper Graz. He received commissions a.o. by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, the Lucerne Festival, the Konzerthaus Orchester Berlin, the Vlaamse Opera Antwerpen, the Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin, the Oper Graz, the Rundfunkchor Berlin, the Zurich Opera, the Taiwan Festival of Arts. Christian lives as a freelance composer and conductor in Berlin where he also leads and is the evening host of the famous concert series “2xhoeren” at the Konzerthaus Berlin.

The composer received invitations to become “Composer in Residence” from the Orchestra of the Beethoven Orchestra Bonn (1999/2000, The End of the Game for orchestra), the Staatskapelle Weimar (2003/04, CocoonSymphonie for orchestra) and in the season 2004/05 from both the Deutsche Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf (Vipern) and the Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz (first performance of Requiem-Trilogie), as well as the Komische Oper Berlin and Theater Dortmund (2008/09 and 2010/11, Hamlet), the National Symphony Orchestra Taiwan and the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra (2012/13, Taipei Horizon), and the Vienna Music Festival in Grafenegg (2016, An die Hoffnung for Tenor and orchestra).

Two of Jost’s operas received their first performance in 2005: the first full-length opera Vipern (“A murderous desire in four acts”) at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf in January and the first staged performance of the one-act work Death Knocks (2001) based on the satire of the same name by Woody Allen in the theatre in Erfurt in May. Jost’s large-scale “astronaut odyssey” Phoenix ressurexit had already received its first performance in 2001 at the festival Mittelrhein Musik Momente. At the beginning of 2006, Jost produced a completely original contribution to the genre music theatre with his choral opera Angst (“5 gateways of a journey into the interior of angst”) for chorus, choral soloists, instrumental ensemble and film projections. The plot and a reflection on the dramatic events of a mountaineering accident are exclusively communicated by the chorus. Following the premiere of the opera The Arabian Night (2007) at the theatre in Essen, Jost composed the musical drama Hamlet based on William Shakespeare for the Komische Oper Berlin during the season 2008/2009. Hamlet’s painful search for knowledge and truth is transformed in the division of the principal role between the mezzo soprano and choral voices into the general existential underlying quest of human beings. Komische Oper commissioned a second opera in 2011, Mikropolis, an opera for children. In 2012, two stage works have been premiered: Rumor at the Vlaamse Opera Antwerpen/Gent, based on the famous novel “Un dulce olor a muerte” (“The Sweet Scent of Death”) by Guillermo Arriaga, and the ballet DnA – six images of love at Oper Graz. In 2013 the Taiwan Festival of Arts commissioned Jost to composer an Opera based on a short story by chinese legendary novelist Zhang Ai-ling. Heart Sutra was premiered the same year at the Taiwan Festival at the national Symphony Concert hall under the musical direction oft he Composer. The Rundfunkchor Berlin and world famous Drummers of U-theatre Taiwan, commissioned Jost to create another original contribution to the genre music-dance-theatre. In April 2014 under Jost’s musical direction, LOVERfor mixed chorus and percussion held his stunning world premiere in Berlin. LOVER will have it’s Asian premiere in February 2016 in Taipei followed by performences at the Hong Kong Festival of Arts, again the Berlin Radio Choir and U-Theatre appear under Jost’s baton. The Trilogy of full evening  “music theatre works” based on chinese topic’s was completed with the world premiere of RED LANTERN – Opera based on Su Tong’s Novel “Wives and Concubines” and the movie “Raise the Red Lantern” by Zhang Yimou at the Zurich Opera in March 2015.

The solo concerto is a core genre in Jost’s oeuvre. A characteristic of his works is an orchestrally conceived atmospheric tonal density. Jost’s compositional impulse primarily consists of the wish to acquaint the listener with the unknown, individualism and psychological borderline experiences in a fascinating guise. His intentions can frequently be divined by the titles of his works: TiefenRausch for violin and orchestra (1997), Cosmodromion for percussion and orchestra (2002) and Heart of Darkness (“Odyssee” for clarinet and orchestra, 2007, commissioned by the Berlin Philharmonic. The tragic death of the jazz trumpeter Chet Baker is the subject of his concerto for trumpet and orchestra Pietà (“in memoriam Chet Baker”, 2004). This work together with the compositions DiesIrae for trombone and orchestra (2002) and LuxAeterna for alto saxophone and orchestra (2003) form the Requiem-Trilogie – a cycle which was performed complete for the first time during the season 2004/05. In 2007, the RSO Stuttgart presenting the world premiere of Konzert für Orchester; in 2009, the Konzerthausorchester Berlin premiered Jost’s work CodeNine. This orchestral work is based on the slow movements of 9th symphonies by Beethoven, Bruckner and Mahler and Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony. Also the Konzerthausorchester Berlin commissioned in 2015 Christian Jost’s BerlinSymphonie a 30 minutes urban symphonic landscape that was premiered at the Konzerthaus Berlin March 2015.

 

Press Images

Jost Logo
Featured Video Play Icon

Christian

Christian Jost, 1963 in Trier geboren, studierte von 1983 bis 1988 in Köln bei Bojidar Dimov und von 1988 bis 1989 am San Francisco Conservatory of Music bei David Sheinfeld Komposition, Werkanalyse und Dirigieren. Als Stipendiat wurde Jost von der Stiftung Kulturfonds des Deutschen Volkes und der Stiftung Kunst und Kultur des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen gefördert. 2003 wurde Jost mit dem Förderpreis der Ernst von Siemens Stiftung ausgezeichnet. Seine Oper Hamlet wurde bei der Kritikerumfrage der Zeitschrift Opernwelt im Jahr 2009 zur “Uraufführung des Jahres” gewählt. Seit 2015 ist Christian Jost der künstlerische Leiter der Konzertreihe “2 x hören – zeitgenössisch” im Konzerthaus Berlin.

Als Dirigent leitete Christian Jost u.a. das Philharmonische Staatsorchester Hamburg, das Nederlands Filharmonisch Orkest, die Bremer Philharmoniker, das National Symphony Orchestra Taiwan, die Essener Phiharmoniker, das Orchester der Komischen Oper Berlin, die Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, Das Philharmonische Orchester der Oper Graz und das Deutsche Kammerorchester Berlin. Kompositionsaufträge erhielt er den Berliner Philharmonikern, dem Luzern Festival, dem Konzerthausorchester Berlin, der Oper Zürich, dem Deutschen Symphonie Orchester Berlin, der Vlaamse Opera Antwerpen, dem Rundfunkchor Berlin, der Oper Graz, dem Residentie Orkest Den Haag und dem Taiwan Festival of Arts. Christian Jost lebt als freischaffender Komponist und Dirigent in Berlin.

Einladungen als Composer in Residence erhielt der Komponist von dem Orchester der Beethovenhalle Bonn (1999/2000, The End of the Game für Orchester), von der Staatskapelle Weimar (2003/04, CocoonSymphonie für Orchester) und in der Saison 2004/05 sowohl von der Deutschen Oper am Rhein (Vipern) wie auch von der Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz (Erstaufführung der ‘Requiem-Trilogie’), der Komischen Oper Berlin (2008/09, Hamlet), dem Theater Dortmund (2010/11, Hamlet), dem National Symphony Orchestra Taiwan und dem Nederlands Philharmonic Orchestra (2012/13, Taipei Horizon), sowie dem östereichischen Festival Grafenegg (2016, Fanfare fü Blechbläser und An die Hoffnung für Tenor und Orchester)

Gleich zwei Opern feierten ihre Premieren im Jahr 2005: im Januar an der Deutschen Oper am Rhein die erste abendfüllende Oper Vipern („Eine mörderische Begierde in 4 Akten“) und im Mai am Theater Erfurt die szenische Erstaufführung des Einakters Death Knocks (2001) nach der gleichnamigen Satire von Woody Allen. Josts großformatig angelegte „Astronauten-Odyssee“ Phoenix ressurexit hatte bereits 2001 bei den Mittelrhein Musik Momenten Premiere gefeiert. Einen ganz neuartigen Beitrag zur Gattung Musiktheater lieferte Jost Anfang des Jahres 2006 mit der Choroper Angst („5 Pforten einer Reise in das Innere der Angst“) für Chor, Chorsolisten, Instrumentalensemble und filmische Projektionen. Handlung und Reflexion um die dramatischen Ereignisse eines Bergsteigerunglücks werden ausschließlich durch den Chor getragen. Nach der Uraufführung der Oper Die arabische Nacht (2007) am Theater Essen komponierte Jost in der Spielzeit 2008/2009 für die Komische Oper Berlin das Musikdrama Hamlet nach William Shakespeare. Hamlets schmerzhafte Suche nach Wahrheit und Erkenntnis wird in der Aufsplitterung der Hauptrolle in Mezzosopran- und Chorstimmen zur existentiellen Grundfrage des Menschen überhaupt. Am gleichen Haus wurde 2011 die Jugendoper Mikropolis aus der Taufe gehoben. 2012 folgten zwei Musiktheaterprojekte: Als Auftragswerk der Vlaamse Opera Antwerpen entstand die Oper Rumor nach dem Roman “Un dulce olor a muerte” (“Der süße Duft des Todes”) des bekannten Drehbuchauthors Guillermo Arriaga (21Gramm, Babel, Amores Perros). Seine erste Ballettkomposition DnA – six images of love schrieb Jost für die Oper Graz. Im Auftrag des Taiwan Festival of Arts komponierte er die Kammeroper HEART SUTRA, basierend auf der gleichnamigen Kurzgeschichte der legendären chinesischen Authorin Zhang Ai-ling, welche unter der Leitung des Komponisten in der National Concert Hall Taipei 2013 uraufgeführt wurde. Der Rundfunkchor Berlin hat gemeinsam mit dem weltbekannten U-theatre Taiwan mit Lover – für gemischten Chor und Schlagzeuginstrumente eine weiteres Mal ein neues originäres Musiktheater bei Christian Jost in Auftrag gegeben, welches mit Jost als Dirigenten 2014 in Berlin zur Uraufführung gelangte. Wieder gemeinsam mit dem Rundfunkchor Berlin und dem U-Theatre Taiwan wird Lover unter der musikalischen Leitung von Christian Jost, im Februar 2016 seine Asien Premiere beim Taiwan International Fesstival of Arts in Taipei im Grand Theatre Hong Kong erleben. Als drittes abendfüllendes musiktheater Werk, welches auf einen chinesischen Ursprung beruht, wurde im März 2015 am Opernhaus Zürich, Jost’s Oper Rote Laterne uraufgeführt. Die Oper basiert auf dem Roman “Wives and Concubines” des Chinesischen Autors Zu Tong, welcher auch als Vorlage für den gleichnamigen Film von Zhang Yimou diente.

Eine zentrale Gattung in Josts Schaffen stellt das Solokonzert dar. Charakteristisch ist eine orchestral gedachte atmosphärische Klangdichte. Josts kompositorischer Impuls besteht vor allem darin, dem Zuhörer Unbekanntes, Eigenwilliges sowie psychische Grenzerfahrungen auf faszinierende Weise nahe zu bringen. Nicht selten lässt sich die Intention des Autors bereits an den Titeln ablesen: TiefenRausch für Violine und Orchester (1997), Cosmodromion für Schlagzeug und Orchester (2002) und Heart of Darkness („Odyssee“ für Klarinette und Orchester, 2007, Auftrag der Berliner Philharmoniker.) Der tragische Tod des Jazztrompeters Chet Baker wird in dem Konzert für Trompete und Orchester Pietà („in memoriam Chet Baker“, 2004) thematisiert. Zusammen mit den Werken DiesIrae für Posaune und Orchester (2002) und LuxAeterna für Altsaxophon und Orchester (2003) bildet diese drei Solokonzerte die ‘Requiem-Trilogie’ – ein Zyklus, der in der Spielzeit 2004/05 erstmalig vollständig aufgeführt wurde. 2007 komponierte er für das RSO Stuttgart sein Konzert für Orchester und 2009 brachte das Konzerthausorchester Berlin Josts CodeNine zur Uraufführung. Als weiterer Auftrag des Konzerthaus Orchester folgte im Frühjahr 2015 die Uraufführung der knapp 30 minütigen symphonisch-urbanen-Landschaft: BerlinSymphonie für grosses Orchester.

Pressefotos

Hier finden Sie Pressefotos zur freien Verwendung. Bitte übernehmen Sie bei Abdruck die entsprechenden Urheberhinweise. Ich freue mich über die Zusendung von Belegen unter: presse@christianjost.de